Daily News Update

College of American Pathologists Honors Top Five Junior Member Abstract Winners

The College of American Pathologists (CAP) recognized five CAP junior members for their outstanding scientific posters and original research. The award recipients were honored at a special ceremony during the College's annual meeting, CAP'13-The Pathologists' Meeting, during October at the Gaylord Palms Orlando, in Kissimmee, Fla.  All winners had their abstracts published in the October issue of the Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine.

 "It is an honor to recognize these five exceptional CAP members for their original research," said CAP President Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP. "Their dedication to pathology and the advancement of science in an effort to enhance patient care is remarkable."

A CAP-sponsored competition, the CAP `13 Abstracts Program provides pathologists with a unique opportunity to enhance their research skills, develop writing proficiency, gain practical experience at presenting their findings, and contribute to the advancement of pathology. It is designed to promote a broad range of research in pathology and offers pathologists and research scientists the opportunity to submit original research to their peers in a poster presentation format. Editors from the Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine evaluated submissions to this program.

The top five CAP junior member abstract winners for the CAP'13 meeting are:

First Place: Jie Xu, MD, PhD, Department of Pathology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Ala., "p16 Overexpression: A Better Prognostic Discriminator Than Transcriptionally Active Human Papillomavirus 16."

Second Place: Riyam Zreik, MD,  Department of Pathology, Scott & White Healthcare, Temple, Texas, "Ulcerated Versus Non-Ulcerated Melanoma: An Evaluation of EMT Gene Expression Patterns and Cancer Hotspot Mutation Testing Using Ion Torrent Next-Generation Sequencing."

Third Place: Kerry Nagee, MD, Department of Pathology, University of Florida-Jacksonville, Fla., "Characterization of KRAS Mutation in Acinar and Langerhans Islet Cells of Patients With Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma."

Fourth Place: Amy G. Zhou, MD, Department of Pathology, University of Massachusetts, Worcester, Mass., "The Utility of Relative Loss of 9p21 in UroVysion Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization for the Detection of Urothelial Carcinoma."

Fifth Place: Haijun (Steve) Zhou, MD, PhD, Department of Pathology and Genomic Medicine, Houston Methodist Hospital, Texas, "Constitutive Activation of IGF-IR-mTOR-AKT Pathway in Diffuse Idiopathic Pulmonary Neuroendocrine Cell Hyperplasia."

Daily News Watch Archives


Back to Top

© 2016 Merion Matters

2900 Horizon Drive, King of Prussia PA 19406